Errata
Chancellorsville (as of November 1st, 1992)

The Credits:
Playtesting credits for the following were inadvertently left out: Ed "Big Brick" Sasko, Jim Hawcarth and
David Fox.

The Map:

IMPORTANT: Only the Rapidan and Rappahannock Rivers are treated as "River" hexsides. All other
"runs or rivers" with similar graphics are considered "Runs" as follows:

1) On the "F" map that means Clayburn, Hazel and Deer (sic; should be "Deep") Runs are runs, and;

2) On the "S" map, Mott Run and Massaponax Creek (East of the picture only) are runs, as are the little
extensions from the rivers at 3007/3107-3007/3106, 3307/3408-3407/3408, and 3409/3410-3610/3611; all
other little "extensions" are streams (regardless of what the graphics say), and;

3) On the "C" map, the Ni River and Hunting Run are runs, as is the "extension" at 2902-3003. All other
little extensions are streams.

The hexsides at the bottom of Mayre's Hill with the Stone Wall should NOT have breastwork hexsides,
too. Only the wall counts.

Because of printing misregistrations, some woods symbols have "crept" into hexes that should not be
woods. To list all these would cause undue damage to your retinas, so adopt some sort of "house rule". If
it's just a little-bitty piece of woods, it probably doesn't belong there.

"North" is straight up; the hex grid number is the North hexside.

The Counters:

The CSA brigade "Ramar" should be "Ramsr" (for Ramseur). It is not, despite rumor, Ramar of the
Jungle.

The Union 3/I Artillery unit is misprinted (it says 3/II) and miscolored (it's brown, instead of red) on the
front.

The OC CP markers are not color/side differentiated. In case you lose track, the Union has a '0', three '1's
and a '2'. The CSA player has a'0','1",'2','3', and a '4".

Yes, some of the colors are different on the backs than on the fronts.

Yes, many of the markers mentioned in the rules are not provided. The miscreant responsible has been
knouted, thrown in a dank closet and forced to play FGA games.

The Rules:

(2.23) [Advanced Game] As you probably noticed, CSA Leaders have Activation Ratings, too.

(4.27) [Advanced Game] CLARIFICATION: For the Union, this should be read as No "Command", so
that a Union Corps commander such as Sedgwick could be used to give an action to the 1/VI and then be
used, immediately after, to give an action to the 2/VI (but NOT the 1/VI again).

(4.34 and 4.61) [Advanced Game] CORRECTION: Units may be placed IN RESERVE only in the
Initiative Determination Phase; you do NOT use an action to do so, and it may not be done once the
Action Phase has started. Pulling a command OUT of Reserve IS an action, though.

(4.5) PLAY NOTE: The Activation rules should be interpreted fairly strictly, as they are meant to
simulate the inability of the Union to get - and keep - going. Also note that it is possible for some units in
a command to stay active while others do not (mostly as per 4.52). If that happens, treat the "inactive"
units as In Reserve.

(4.52) [Advanced Game] CLARIFICATION: The exception applies ONLY if at least half of the combat
units in that command have used at least 2 MP's to move the previous turn.

(4.6) [Advanced Game] ADDITION: Units In Reserve have NO ZOC'S and NO Facing.

(4.72) CLARIFICATION: Out-of-Command units do NOT count.



(5.22) CLARIFICATION: Trails do NOT cross streams or any other water, or reduce the cost of crossing
such. Roads and pikes do.

(5.78) If using the Off-Map Movement Chart in the Basic Game, Actions = Movement Phases.

(6.42) CLARIFICATION: You may not Screen through a flank hexside into woods, as per the prohibition
of 6.23. You MAY Screen through a frontal hexside, road or no road.

(7.21) CLARIFICATION: You may not stack while using (moving along, etc.) roads. Units may end
movement stacked in a road hex, if stacking is allowed therein.

(8.0) [Advanced Game] CLARIFICATION: Units from a single command undertaking a Combat Action
are NOT required to have all units perform the same (only one) of the listed combat formats. One unit
may Fire Only, one may Fire then Melee, etc., etc.

(8.14) [Advanced Game] CORRECTION: Ignore the two references, this refers to the RETURN FIRE
[ADDITION] in the same column.

(8.18 and 8.19) CORRECTION: Ignore the reference to "R" results being optional. They are not.

(8.32) CLARIFICATION: Stacked units may attack/screen separate hexes.

(8.33) CLARIFICATION: In the Advanced Game, Inactive units may not use Return Fire unless they
were fired at first.

(8.34) ADDITION: Units may Retreat Before Combat before Fire, too. The unit(s) that were to fire may
advance into the vacated hex but may not engage in melee in that Phase/action. Units may not RBC if
fired on by artillery at a range of two or more hexes, nor may infantry/artillery retreat in the face of a
cavalry charge (melee). Horse artillery is treated as cavalry for purposes of this section.

(8.42[5]) ADDITION: Disordered units may NOT Return Fire unless they are actually fired at.

(8.74) ADDITION: Routing units move half (rounded up) of their Movement Allowance, to a minimum
of one hex. However, when available, they must take the path that costs the least MP's.

(10.24) CLARIFICATION: Command Ranges are strictly enforced. Just because an out-of-range unit is
adjacent to an In Command unit does NOT mean the former is In Command (especially in woods hexes!).
Minor exception: 5.51 and 5.52

(10.42) CLARIFICATION: Players may use either the printed CP on the OC's counter OR this method of
varying the # of CP's available per turn.

(11.0) Pontoons are considered "bridges" on the Movement Chart.

(15.0) Call back the search parties... it's not there. There is no Hidden Movement Sheet or Display Chart
in the game. Blame for this rests squarely on the grenadier-like shoulders of the designer (who blithely
forgot to inform the publisher that such was needed). Use a sheet of scratch paper; that's what we did.
(16.0) IN GENERAL: Some units start the game "overstacked" - mostly 'a' + 'b' in a woods hex...and
they're usually In Reserve. Players can either change this as soon as they move or adjust the initial
deployment by placing one of the units into an adjacent hex. Don't worry about it...improvise. IN
ADDITION, if a unit position is listed as W or E, players may choose between SE/NE, SW/NW, etc.
(16.23) In the Basic Game, I Corps may not move in the Initial Movement Phase until Reynolds is in
Hooker's Range OR Hooker sends an Aide to Reynolds.

(16.27) The Commitment Rule applies to CSA units moving in the 1st Turn Bonus.

(16.33) CORRECTION: Wilcox and the 15th VA Cavalry enter 0700.

(16.62) CHANGE: C1902-1903 is an Improved, "A" Ford. The II corps pontoon is with the 2/IT at F3110.
Treat 2/11 as inactive.

(16.63) Ignore the arrival of Reserve 'b' artillery; it's already on the map.

Expanding Chancellorsville's
Basic Game by Richard Berg

For those of you who have no liking for the TCT system, the following allows you to use the leaders with
the basic Play Sequence. Once you get the hang of this method, you can probably retrofit almost any of
the advanced rules that do not depend completely on "actions". We still heartily recommend the TCT
system for the large scenarios; historicity is far greater that way.



All of 10.0 [Advance Game] applies, except that Action Ratings are not used (as well as any other
subtleties that apply specifically to the Advanced Game), except for a few dierolls, such as Activation by
aides. You'll know when.

4.5 should be used. The term "inactive" now refers to units as well as commanders. You do need a few
extra instructions.

a. Activation attempts (of all types) occur in the Initiative Phase, after initiative is determined. The player
with the Initiative rolls for any activations last. Activation methods remain the same. Activation by melee
occurs at the end of that phase.

b. Where some portions of a command are inactive and some are not, if the leader is Active he can
activate the "inactive" units simply by moving so that they are in his Command Range and then
attempting to activate them in the immediately succeeding Activation Phase. (E.g. Union XII Corps in the
16.2 scenario can move, in the first turn, to 4815, so that the left wing of his corps is in his range. In the
1800 turn, the Union Player may attempt to activate these inactive units - without Slocum being in
Hooker's range, because Slocum is still active... or at least he will be if he moves his right wing forward.)
c. The OC/Superior Leader may NOT add his CP's, if any, to the Activation die rolls. The OC's CP's are
the number of Commanders in his range and/or Aides he may attempt to activate per turn. (This makes
Hooker rather ineffective.) If Hooker is hors de combat, the Union will have 'O’ CP's - and may activate
only defensively!!

d. The Union Player may NOT roll for activation in the first turn of the 16.2 scenario, and Hooker may
not move until the 1800 turn. However, when using the 10.42 method of determining CP's (see above) do
NOT remove the Union 2' marker.

e. If a unit defending against Melee is inactive, the attacker gets a 1R column adjustment on the Melee
Table. PLUS, if the defender suffers ANY adverse result (including EX), he must Retreat One Hex
(unless he already has to do so) and is Disordered at the end of the retreat. (This rule will apply almost
entirely to the opening turn of the 16.2 scenario. As a play hint, CSA players will soon realize that, if they
fire first they activate the XI Corps. If they just melee, they don't! - and then this rule applies.)

f. The 4.52 exception applies to individual units that may be active but Out of Command, and are moving
along roads/pikes.

We do not recommend using Command Morale for Basic Play. Units in scenarios that are in Reserve are
treated as Leader Inactive (unless they are already so).

Extended March may be used simply by doubling Movement rates for units in the Operational Movement
Phase that qualify under 5.6.

Out of Command units may NOT move in the Operational Movement Phase, unless they are moving
Reinforcements (as per 5.51 Advanced) and there is no specific prohibition (as there is in the Jackson's
Attack scenario vis a vis the Union I Corps). Out of Command Commitment rules and use of OC CP's for
Initiative apply, too. Command is determined at the beginning of each phase.

If using these leader rules to play the bigger scenarios, by all means throw in the Weather Rules, etc. etc.

Random Events: Yes, you can even throw these in!! In the Initiative Phase, any time the (unadjusted)
Initiative dieroll by both players is the same (e.g., both players roll a '5'), an event MAY have occurred
(see intro. to 14.0). Unless noted, all RE's apply only to that turn. Adjust the individual RE's as follows
(otherwise, just apply what the RE says):

#3[A]: Roll two dice for each rolling player's Aide on the map; a '2' or '12' kills him. If that player has no
aides in play, or he rolls a '7' in trying to kill one, go to [B]



#4: Player may activate any one Inactive Command of his choice if he rolls an even number on one die. If
not, no activation.

#5[A]: Apply the same ratings to dieroll. If result is 1-3 units in that command may NOT move that turn.
#5[B]: Treat as No Event

#8: The rolling player rolls one die for each Active Leader who does not have any combat units adjacent
to enemy units. If he rolls an "even" number, all In Command units in that Command may NOT move in

the Operational Movement Phase.

#9. For the rolling player's Offensive Fire Phase, the added retreat result applies if the lost SP came on an
"even" dieroll.

#10: Any ONE of player's Out of Command units (both 'a’' and 'b' of a brigade are treated as a single unit)
may NOT move in the Operational Movement Phase.

#11 [Day Turn] Roll for each leader within two hexes of an enemy infantry unit and in LOS.

#11 [Night Turn] Roll one die; if even, Jackson is shot. If odd, not.



